About Us

About Us
The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is a voluntary association of, by and for local governments, and was established to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions.


NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered around the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. NCTCOG has over 230 member governments including 16 counties, numerous cities, school districts, and special districts. Click here for more information about membership in NCTCOG.

Each member government appoints a COG voting representative from its governing body. These voting representatives make up the General Assembly, which annually elects the Executive Board. The Executive Board, composed of 13 locally elected officials, is the policy-making body for all activities undertaken by the Council of Governments, including program activities and decisions, regional plans, and fiscal and budgetary policies. The Board is supported by technical, study, and policy development committees and a professional staff headed by Mike Eastland, Executive Director.

For more about Council of Governments in Texas, visit the Texas Association of Regional Councils web site. For a complete list of Council of Governments in the U.S., visit the National Association of Regional Councils web site.

About NCTCOG Education Initiative

The North Texas Aviation Education Initiative was initiated by NCTCOG from a widely recognized need for additional aviation workforce, both regionally and nationally. Despite its preeminence in the aviation industry, and the demonstrated need to train additional aviation professionals, the region lacks a public university with an integrated comprehensive four-year college program for students who would like to pursue an aviation career. 

About Workforce Solutions for North Central Texas

Workforce Solutions for North Central Texas provides leadership to our extensive network of Workforce Centers and service providers who are dedicated to assisting employers in finding the right employee.

Our service area includes Collin, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, and Wise counties. This area is home to over 2.3 million residents, 47,000 businesses, and over 1.2 million workers.

Since 1996, Workforce Solutions for North Central Texas has partnered with the North Central Texas Council of Governments, who serves as its administrative entity responsible for program implementation.

Sources: NCTCOG, North Central Texas Workforce Solutions

NCTaviationcareers.com Demonstration Videos

The North Central Texas Council of Governments’ (NCTCOG) Transportation Department and Workforce Solutions for North Central Texas collaborated to develop a robust and interactive website for students to explore career possibilities in aviation and aerospace; learn about available opportunities at local academic institutions; and provide parents and educators with information to assist students in achieving their career goals. NCTaviationcareers.com is designed to be an easily navigated by a variety of users and highlights more than 25 types of aviation-related careers, and includes information on how to fund your education, a list of potential grants and scholarships, internships, curriculum resources for educators and workforce data for employers.